Date: Thursday 17th February 2011

Attendees:
Sri Chandra Freescale
Geoffrey Coram Analog Devices
Scott Little Freescale
David Miller Freescale


Update from recent SV committee meeting
Sri recently participated in the System Verilog committee meeting and discussed what we plan to do with respect to the System Verilog-AMS merge.
Main discussion was with respect to the document.
Discussed both option:
1. get all chapters and incorportate analog entensions to produce one fully contained System-Verilog-AMS document.
2. Just obtain the style sheets and generate an extensions document. This would be similar to what we have now with the Verilog-AMS 2.3.1 and 1364-2005.

The SV board was a lot more comfortable with 2.

It also means we don't have to do a complete review of our document every time the parent P1800 document changes especially since our time lines may not sync up.

The next item that was discussed was the BNF, do we want to have an appendix that is just the AMS changes to the P1800 or do we want to support a single merged BNF? Still undecided, but feel the most useful option is a single merged BNF. Yes, it does mean we need to keep it up to date with changes in the parent P1800 BNF, but changes in the BNF are not quite as drastic as the potential document changes between revisions.

Lynn Horobin is working with Accellera and P1800 to get the necessary permissions in place to access the documents.

We made need some sort of restrictive access, or access list put in place, this is still being looked into.

There was some discussion on how VHDL 1076 works, with the 1076.1 dot standard for the AMS extensions being a similar work effort to what we are undertaking. It is referred to as a superset of 1076 and does mention that it may not be in sync with the parent 1076 standard.

Other items
Achim sent some requests for enhancements to the Verilog-AMS standard. They have been lodged as Mantis item: 3392.

Dave asked a question related to the request by Jonathan regarding detecting of floating node conditions during run time.

Geoffrey explained that they are not ideal floating nodes, but situations where for example, a MOS device is turned off. The node may exhibit a very tiny conductance and be very loosely controlled. It is these high impedance nodes that people are interested in detecting. If the tools could detect these conditions, it would be very useful.

Next Call

The next call will be Thursday 3rd March.

An agenda will be distributed two days prior to the call.

Dialin Details:
San Francisco, 11.30a
Austin, 1.30p
Boston, 2.30p
Amsterdam, 8.30p
Tel Aviv, 9.30p
New Delhi, 1a (next day)
Adelaide, 6a

Call-In Details:
USA Toll Free : 8008671147
Australia Toll Free: 1800009128
India Toll Free : 0008006501482
Netherlands : 08002658223
Passcode: 0970751#

-- DavidMiller - 2011-02-18

Topic revision: r1 - 2011-02-18 - 17:40:09 - DavidMiller
 
Copyright © 2008-2024 by the contributing authors. All material on this collaboration platform is the property of the contributing authors.
Ideas, requests, problems regarding TWiki? Send feedback